Client Reviews

thes

in all genres

Sci-Fi Book Review

Thanks so much for the review. I can see I'm going to learn a lot from it. I'll be working diligently on all suggestions. Again, thanks a million. 

Shafiek Reggiori, May 2020

The other side of fear (self-help book)

"Working with Brenda was great. She is very passionate about what she does. If there's something I look for in the people I work with, it's the passion, because if you don't have passion for what you do, then you shouldn't be doing it! Brenda is undoubtedly an excellent editor and has improved the content and structure of my manuscript. She is very patient, she takes her time and she delivers excellent and satisfying results. If you are looking for professionalism, you are at the right place."

M.K. Slim, May 2020. New Voices Publishers

Harry the Ant: Children's stories

"I love working with Brenda. She brings life to my stories and provides superb editing advice. Her response to questions is quick and she is always easy to reach. With her help I always have a finished product that I can be proud of." 

Amelia van Aswegen, 2019. Harry the Ant, published by Penguin Random House

Poetry Collection

"Brenda, it was a great pleasure to work with you as my manuscript editor. Your patience and surely your experience assisted me a lot. You not only assisted with improving my manuscript but helped me to polish my poetry writing skills. Than you very much."

Vumile Nyalashe. (Grant recipient of the National Library of South Africa’s Centre for the Book 2019 Community Publishing Programme)

 The Thirteenth

"A special thank you to my editor, Brenda Burgess, for having the courage to wield the sword of criticism. It was a great privilege and honour to pursue this dream with your guidance. I would like to express my sincere gratitude for your patience and understanding."

Zeenat Cassim, January 2020. (Grant recipient of the National Library of South Africa’s Centre for the Book 2019 Community Publishing Programme) 

Vision - the story of a seeing blind man

"Many thanks to my editor, Brenda Burgess, for her valuable insights and suggestions, and for all the hours invested and hard work in reading, rereading, and editing my writings."

Richard Albertse, December 2019 (Grant recipient of the National Library of South Africa’s Centre for the Book 2019 Community Publishing Programme)

Election Day - Samuel Mputhi

"I am a 'still learning writer' who is blessed to know Brenda Burgess. She edited my book Election Day, a compilation of English short stories. I had received a sponsor from Centre for the Book for publishing but my scripts needed a bit of polishing. The professionalism and excellent work done by Ms Burgess when working with her resulted in my book being finally published. Since that experience I have used the services of Ms Burgess in many of my projects and as a young writer I have grown very much since I started working with her. I always have peace of mind when I have given her my manuscripts knowing very well I will get value for my money and more. Without a doubt I recommend the services of Brenda to any one especially the young and upcoming writers."

Samuel Mphuthi, February 2019

PhD thesis

"My thesis was edited for language usage and grammar technicalities and I can hereby testify that the work was done by Brenda Burgess with great precision and neatness. Thank you Brenda."

Lional Johnson, January 2019

Not over 'til it's over - fiction

"A big ‘thank you’ goes to my razor-sharp editor, Ms Brenda Burgess, for her insight, perfectionism and meticulous attention to detail! You are the best, chomma! Thank you!"

Susan Ntete (recipient of grant from the National Library of South Africa’s Centre for the Book’s Community Publishing Programme), December 2018

Whispers from Skeletons - fiction

"I'm very grateful to my editor, Brenda Burgess, who has polished and shaped Whispers from Skeletons in readiness for publication by the Centre for the Book."

Malinge Livingstone Gqeba, November 2018

Her Voice - poetry

"Thank you Brenda Burgess for editing my anthology and making life so much easier for me. Thank you for respecting my work in the process."

Ntando Mbatha (recipient of grant from the National Library of South Africa’s Centre for the Book’s Community Publishing Programme), October 2018

Academic Thesis - Executive MBA student

“Writing is a medium of communication as well as speaking. However, the way we speak and write are totally different. As a student, mother of two and full time working employee, I was not able to write and review my research papers on time. I was relieved when a fellow student introduced me to Brenda. Her professional approach to editing makes it easy to work with her as she guides me in writing my academic papers. She always makes time for me whenever I ask for assistance. My marks have improved dramatically since she began editing my papers and I now meet all my deadlines.”

Luluzana Madhlophe, Executive MBA student, Graduate School of Business, University of Cape Town. September 2018

Academic Thesis - Civil Engineering Master's student

"Finding a suitable professional editor is the key to the successful completion of any academic research project. A friend recommended Brenda Burgess and it was a privilege and an honour for me to work with her – she edited my MSc thesis with passion, despite very limited time. Regular communications regarding changes gave me the option to agree or disagree with her suggestions, and the project was completed before the deadline. I would recommend the professional editing services of Brenda Burgess to anyone who requires polished and edited research work. Thank you very much Brenda - I will use your professional services in the future."

Philbert Habimana MCE, former master's student at the Faculty of Civil Engineering and the Built Environment, University of Cape Town, South Africa. August 2017

The New Manager – Steven Jacobs

"A big thank you to Brenda Burgess who not only edited my book, but was also extremely helpful throughout the process and gave invaluable insights. I can confidently say that Brenda’s editing was in large part the reason Random House Penguin SA agreed to publish my book The New Manager. The public has also been very receptive to the book and it was chosen as one of the top six business books in 2016 by bestselling author Ian Mann. I would certainly recommend Brenda for any aspiring writer - they will not regret it."

Steven Jacobs, author of The New Manager - How to become a leader in 52 simple steps, December 2016 

http://www.penguinrandomhouse.co.za/book/new-manager-how-become-leader-52-simple-steps/9781776091010

© 2018 by Brenda Burgess. Proudly created with Wix.com